The ASEAN Flag

The ASEAN flagThe Association of South East Asian Nations’ ASEAN flag adopted in July 1997 represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic ASEAN.

The colours of the flag – blue, red, white and yellow – represent the main colours of the flags of all the ASEAN member states. The blue represents peace and stability, red depicts courage and dynamism, white shows purity and yellow symbolises prosperity. The ten stalks of paddy in the centre of the emblem represent the dream of ASEAN’s ‘Founding Fathers’ for an ASEAN comprising all ten countries in Southeast Asia, bound together in friendship and solidarity. Finally the circle represents the unity of ASEAN.